Ballet Ireland's The Nutcracker Tour Starts This Saturday!

Coming to a Theatre near you...

 

Ballet Ireland is delighted to present The Nutcracker, one of the world’s most beloved ballets, to audiences in twenty five theatres across Ireland this season. The tour of this quintessential Christmas classic will run 5th November - 23rd December, with performances in the Victorian charm of Dublin's Gaiety Theatre Wednesday 16th - Sat 19th November. 

 

This Irish production will be performed by an international cast of world-class dancers that includes Hayley Cunningham and Cian Hughes, both from Ireland. 

 

This Christmas classic appeals to audiences of all ages, with its fairytale magic, Tchaikovsky’s beloved & sumptuous score, beautiful costumes, and a tale of wondrous adventure  - combining to form one of the most delectable Christmas confections imaginable. 

 

Based on stories by E.T.A. Hoffmann's and Alexander Dumas, the ballet starts at a marvellous Christmas Eve party, as the mysterious Uncle Drosselmeyer brings gifts for all the children. When midnight strikes, very strange things start to happen. The Christmas tree grows to incredible heights and Clara’s magical Christmas gift, her Nutcracker, leads them into a fairy-tale world.  With her heroic Nutcracker at her side, Clara defeats the Mouse King and his army of mice, and they journey to the Land of Snow and the Kingdom of Sweets together...

 

TOUR DATES

Roscommon Arts Centre: Saturday 5 November

An Grianán Theatre, Letterkenny: Sunday 6 November

Riverside Theatre, Coleraine: Tuesday 8 November

The Theatre at the Mill, Newtownabbey: Wednesday 9 November

The Burnavon, Cookstown: Friday 11 November

The Ardhowen Theatre, Enniskillen: Saturday 12 November

Gaiety Theatre, Dublin: Wednesday 16 – Saturday 19 November

Garage Theatre, Monaghan: Tuesday 22 November

Hawk’s Well Theatre, Sligo: Wednesday 23 November

Draíocht, Blanchardstown: Friday 25 November

Everyman Theatre, Cork: Saturday 26 November

Town Hall Theatre, Galway: Tuesday 29 & Wednesday 30 November

Civic Theatre, Tallaght: Thursday 1 – Saturday 3 December

Dunamaise Arts Centre, Portlaoise: Monday  5 & Tuesday 6 December

The Helix, Glasnevin, Dublin 9: Thursday 8 December

Lime Tree Theatre, Limerick: Friday 9 & Saturday 10 December

Siamsa Tíre, Tralee: Sunday 11 December

Solstice Arts Centre, Navan: Tuesday 13 December

Backstage Theatre, Longford: Wednesday 14 December

glór, Ennis: Friday 16 December

Watergate Theatre, Kilkenny: Saturday 17 December

The Source Arts Centre, Thurles: Sunday 18 December

Dean Crowe Theatre, Athlone: Tuesday 20 December

VISUAL, Carlow: Wednesday 21 December

Mermaid Arts Centre, Bray: Thursday 22 & Friday 23 December

 

BALLET IRELAND presents both traditional full-length classics and new commissioned ballets which resonate with audiences of the 21st century. The originality of Ballet Ireland’s work has attracted a company of highly trained international dancers, who are recognised by audiences and critics for their individual style and razor sharp technique.

 

Established in 1998 by Gunther Falusy and Anne Maher, the company performs in large scale theatres in Dublin and provincial venues throughout Ireland. Touring affords the opportunity for regional audiences to access and enjoy professional ballet and to inspire young and talented students all over Ireland.

 

In addition to professional performances, Ballet Ireland are champions of cultivating future talent. The company’s summer schools, held in theatres throughout the country, provide aspiring young students with week-long workshops. These workshops culminate in onstage performances with dancers from the company. Throughout the year there are additional programmes for primary and secondary school students, both for those with and without formal training. These opportunities create unforgettable experiences for the participants and their families.

Rate this item
(0 votes)

SUBURBIA TV

Quick Poll

Joomla forms builder by JoomlaShine
Go to top